Home / Latest / Pakistan beat South Africa by 27 runs in third T20 | Sports

Pakistan beat South Africa by 27 runs in third T20 | Sports

Pakistan´s Babar Azam (L) plays a shot before being caught out by South Africa´s Junior Dala during the second T20 cricket match between South Africa and Pakistan at The Wanderers Cricket Stadium in Johannesburg on February 3, 2019. Photo: AFP

CENTURION: Pakistan defeated South Africa by 27 runs in the third and final T20I at the SuperSport Park in Centurion on Wednesday.

Pakistan set a target of 169-run for South Africa to win the third T20I. Chasing the target, Proteas could only score 141 runs in 20 overs at a loss of nine wickets.

Seven Pakistan batsmen reached double figures but the highest score was 26 by Mohammad Rizwan.

Seeking a consolation win after losing the first two matches in the series, Pakistan made a fast start but were unable to put together any significant partnerships.

A mid-innings collapse when three wickets fell for five runs in nine balls reduced Pakistan to 94 for five, with Rizwan, captain Shoaib Malik and Hussain Talat falling in quick succession. Malik was run out for 18 after a mix-up with Talat.

Shadab Khan hit three sixes in the final over from Andile Phehlukwayo to finish with 22 not out off eight balls. The last over cost 21 runs.

Babar Azam again gave Pakistan a good start, striking 23 off 11 balls before he was caught at cover off Chris Morris in the third over.

Beuran Hendricks claimed four wickets to restrict Pakistan to 168 for 9 in 20 overs.

South Africa had an unassailable 2-0 lead in the T20 series after they clinched the series with a seven-run win in Johannesburg, following a dramatic collapse by the visitors saw them lose 6 wickets for 34 on 24 deliveries.

Pakistan lost the Test series, the ODI series, as well as their unbeaten T20I series record since 2016.


South Africa: Gihahn Cloete, Junior Dala, Beuran Hendricks, Reeza Hendricks, Heinrich Klaasen, David Miller (c), Chris Morris, Willem Mulder, Andile Phehlukwayo, Tabraiz Shamsi, Rassie van der Dussen, Lutho Sipamla, Janneman Malan

Pakistan: Asif Ali, Babar Azam, Faheem Ashraf, Fakhar Zaman, Hasan Ali, Hussain Talat, Imad Wasim, Mohammad Amir, Mohammad Hafeez, Sahibzada Farhan, Shadab Khan, Shaheen Afridi, Shoaib Malik (c), Usman Shinwari, Mohammad Rizwan


Check Also

Federal cupboard evaluations financial state of affairs, approves Rs278bn nationwide emergency agriculture program | Pakistan

Cupboard additionally condemns terrorist assault in New Zealand, and paid tribute to Pakistani nationwide Late …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.