Home / Latest / Pakistan set 169-run target for South Africa to win third T20 | Sports

Pakistan set 169-run target for South Africa to win third T20 | Sports

Pakistan´s Babar Azam (L) plays a shot before being caught out by South Africa´s Junior Dala during the second T20 cricket match between South Africa and Pakistan at The Wanderers Cricket Stadium in Johannesburg on February 3, 2019. Photo: AFP

CENTURION: Pakistan set a target of 169-run for South Africa to win the third and final T20I at the SuperSport Park in Centurion on Wednesday.

Pakistan were looking to end their tour of South Africa on a high by avoiding a series clean sweep as they took on the Proteas in the third T20I.

Beuran Hendricks claimed four wickets to restrict Pakistan to 168 for 9 in 20 overs.

South Africa have an unassailable 2-0 lead in the T20 series after they clinched the series with a seven-run win in Johannesburg, after a dramatic collapse by the visitors saw them lose 6 wickets for 34 in 24 balls.

Tonight’s match will draw curtains on Pakistan’s lengthy tour. Pakistan lost the Test series, the ODI series, as well as their unbeaten T20I series record since 2016. 

For South Africa, David Miller will remain as captain, having led the side in the second match in the absence of regular skipper Faf du Plessis, who has been rested for the last two games of the series.

Meanwhile, Usman Shinwari could face being dropped from the playing XI after he finished with the worst T20I figures, 0-63 for a Pakistan bowler in an innings.

Mohammad Hafeez, who missed the first two T20 matches due to an injury, could make a comeback provided he passes the fitness test before the game. 

The match between South Africa and Pakistan will start at 9pm Pakistan Standard Time.


South Africa: Gihahn Cloete, Junior Dala, Beuran Hendricks, Reeza Hendricks, Heinrich Klaasen, David Miller (c), Chris Morris, Willem Mulder, Andile Phehlukwayo, Tabraiz Shamsi, Rassie van der Dussen, Lutho Sipamla, Janneman Malan

Pakistan: Asif Ali, Babar Azam, Faheem Ashraf, Fakhar Zaman, Hasan Ali, Hussain Talat, Imad Wasim, Mohammad Amir, Mohammad Hafeez, Sahibzada Farhan, Shadab Khan, Shaheen Afridi, Shoaib Malik (c), Usman Shinwari, Mohammad Rizwan


Check Also

Federal cupboard evaluations financial state of affairs, approves Rs278bn nationwide emergency agriculture program | Pakistan

Cupboard additionally condemns terrorist assault in New Zealand, and paid tribute to Pakistani nationwide Late …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.